LandInvestors.com Forums **Ask A Question** Would you do this deal?

• Creator
    Topic

Roy
    Participant

I mailed a new county (never mailed there before) with higher priced lots in better areas. I got a response from a seller who notified me that the property is listed with a broker on the MLS for a few months now for considerably more than what I offered, but he agreed to take my offer.

Lot size: 2ac List price: $71K. My offer: $48K. The area is a gated community with homes in the $400-$500K range, and previous lots sold for around $70-80K in that subdivision. Property is surveyed, staked, and even passed a perc test.

I figured I’d purchase it, and resell it at $65K ($10-$15K profit). But now I’m not so sure. I’ve never done a deal in this price range before, and not sure if I can make it work at $48K, now that there’s a broker involved. Would you do this deal? Any suggestions?

Viewing 12 replies - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Replies
  • Kevin Farrell
    ProAdvanced

Roy – Nice deal! You have done everything right. I would try to negotiate so the seller pays the broker or at least splits the commission. The only unknown will be how long will it take to sell it. Even though I am not working in that price range, I believe that your numbers will work perfectly.

How many deals like that do you need per month to “get by”? Keep us informed on this one.

Roy
    Participant
    Pro

I’m kind of nervous about it since it’s not selling at $70K on the market now, and tying up $50K to make $10K is a bit daunting for me. Anyone have experience in this price range?

Kevin – what do you mean by “deals per month to get by”? I typically do lower priced deals, at around $5K-$20K.

Kevin Farrell
    ProAdvanced