LandInvestors.com Forums **Ask A Question** Two Beginner Questions

• Creator
    Topic

danielholmlund
    Participant

Hi everyone. I’m brand new to the Land Academy community and looking forward to participating in the group.

I have two questions. I’ve just completed my second mailer, a total of 228 offer letters. The advice I was given from other communities was, as a beginner, to stay in the counties where other land investors are. So I started in Costilla county. I’ve received a response to an offer letter in San Acacio, CO. After looking more at the area, there seems to be a very low volume of transactions occurring there. My question is if I get the land at a very low price is it worth it if reselling might take a while?

My second question is the owners of the land are both deceased and I’m talking to the executor of their estate. I’m assuming that I’ll need certificates of death for the both owners and a letter of appointment of executor to show that the person I’m talking to has the right to sell the property. Is there anything else that I need in a case like this?

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Replies
  • Kevin Farrell
    ProAdvanced

Daniel – Good for you! You are getting the mail out and getting some deals. I strongly suggest that you send out at least 1000 offers at a time.

You have an opportunity to buy some cheap land and want to know if you should. Can you buy it for about 25% of comps (or less). If yes, then you should buy it and sell it for much less than what is on the market. A market with very few offerings is not necessarily a bad thing for a seller. However, if the property is over one hour from a major metro area, then it will be a slow seller.