LandInvestors.com Forums **Ask A Question** Timber Rights

• Creator
    Topic
    Mike Jackson
    Participant

Hey guys. I’m new to the business and am looking to buy 80 acres in MS. It’s my understanding that timber rights are a big deal in that state. I would appreciate some input as to what I need to be aware of going forward with conversations with the potential seller of this property. Thank you!

Viewing 4 replies - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Replies
  • Kevin Farrell
    ProAdvanced

Mike – the big question will be “What is the value of the timber now?” The seller may have one number in mind. An independent timber cruiser may have a different number for you. When was the last time timber was harvested on this land? Is the seller selling for the land value only or is the seller asking for more on top of the land value for the market value of timber? If the seller is just getting rid of the property at a low offer, then you can’t lose.

I have purchased large parcels covered with mature timber but the actual timber value was low because of the steep slopes. I did not buy or sell with timber value in mind, but slope can be a factor.

Let’s hear from other LA members who are more involved with timber land.

Kevin Farrell - Moderator
    Need more help?
    Schedule a 30 minute call - https://calendly.com/kevin-629

K Turner
    Participant

Mike:

I have been a LA member and investor for a little over 5 years. I have also bought and sold mostly smaller tracts with timber on them, and live in Louisiana where lots of folks buy timbered property here in LA and in MS for hunting purposes. I’ve read up enough on timber to be slightly dangerous but choose to stay out of timber rights.