• Creator
    Topic

Josh George
    Participant

@jilldewit
    @admin
    @luketsmith

Hey Guys,

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted on here. Things have been a little busy with researching deals still rolling in from past mailers and also from recent mailers.

I’ve been trying some different counties and I had a gentleman contact me a couple of days ago from one of my mailers and he wants to sell me a rather large piece of property (over 100 acres). He is asking a really great price ($125/acre!!) for the size of the property based on comps but the figures are well out of my reach. So I feel like this would be a perfect “Options Deal”.

He is still getting me some info on the property and we haven’t even talked about doing an option yet but since I have never done one before, I’m a little hesitant to pursue/offer it on such a large transaction.

Assuming that he is ok with doing an option agreement, my concerns are in regards to the mechanics of an option deal:
    I would for sure get title insurance on a transaction of this size but how do I go about getting that?
    Also, is getting title insurance the same as closing through escrow? I’m not well versed in how this process works.

Any input would be greatly appreciated. I hate to let a deal like this go to waste just because of the small details.
    If he doesn’t agree to do an options deal, I may be reaching out for a partner on this.

Thanks

Viewing 15 replies - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Replies
  • Justin Holm
    Participant
    Pro

Hi Josh,

Don’t be afraid to do an options deal. They are fairly straight forward. Just use the option agreement you have in the Land Academy package. If you are able to sell the property, you will need to record two deeds, one to you then one from you to the buyer. Really easy and no upfront cash.