LandInvestors.com Forums **Ask A Question** Newbie – Getting Started with Investing

• Creator
    Topic
    RBrown
    Participant

I am new to Land Academy. I’ve been watching videos, reading, and learning for the past month or so. I decided to take action. So, I bought a list from a county assessor, pulled the names and addresses from it, created a mail file, merged it, took it to a printer, then stuffed, stamped, then sent a couple of hundred letters!

I’ve targeted an area near where I live and I’ve had some responses. I didn’t send a blind offer. Here are the responses I got from what Steven would consider

too small of a mailing

:

1. One person told me I was bold and a heartless scammer (via email)

2. Another asked for an offer. When I sent it they Replied with “Not Interested”

3. Another said he was going to list with an agent at just under market value (I told him I wasn’t interested)

4. Another asked for an offer. I sent one based on the average market value for my area divided by 4. (No response, so I assume not interested)

4. Another lives out of the area but would like to sell his property (Putting an offer together on this one as I write this)

I am afraid that my offers are too low and that I am possibly offending (Chasing, Scaring away, etc) potential sellers.

Questions:
    Is this normal in the beginning? or is there an obvious tweak I need to make for better responses?
    How do you get past worrying that I look like a low baller fishing for a deal?
    It is very tempting to offer more – but I know I shouldn’t?
    Any advice helps

Viewing 2 replies - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Replies
  • Kevin Farrell

RBrown – congrats on getting started! You did everything the hard way.

1. Getting a data list directly from the county = Hard
    The easy way is to download data in a std format from RealQuestPro or Data Tree.
    2. Printed, stuffed and stamped your letters = Hard