LandInvestors.com Forums **Ask A Question** How to find discounted note buyers?

• Creator
    Topic

Chris Newman
    Participant

Hi All!

I’m in a different position than the usual land hustler in that I’m drowning in parcels to sell, within about 30-45 minutes of Seattle. But, I’m a rank newbie when it comes to selling cashflow notes.

I currently have 14 acres of unbuildable (for residential) farmland next door to Everett, WA, that’s pre-divided into 36 parcels and just put under contract 40 acres that will subdivide out into at least 8 unbuildable lots. And, I have another dozen deals bookmarked on Redfin, just waiting for me to come up with the cash.

These properties are the “residue” acreage properties from my main niche of buying land that contains unused county “transferable development rights” that are suddenly worth far more (3X – 10X) than the asking price for the land/TDR package.

The nice thing is that you don’t have to sell the land to reap the TDR profits: The credits are Certified and split off, leaving behind a “conservation easement” on the property’s title.

(To sell these credits, you just need to find urban growth area multifamily developers who will need these credits in order to boost development density from 22 units/acre to 58, in a market where development land sells for $1 million/acre. BTW, this only works within Snohomish county, WA, under the county’s new comprehensive resource land conservation program.)

Without going into complex detail, it’s probably going to be about six more months before the free market for these TDR credits launches. Then the demand is going to be for 1,000’s per year just to keep up with projected population growth for the next couple of decades.

So, at the moment, I’m land-rich and cash-poor. It could be worse. 🙂